Norcal Jeepers

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Tapatalk is still having problems starting new threads, but you can still reply to old threads

Welcome to Norcal Jeepers!
Welcome to Norcal Jeepers! It looks like you're not registered yet. As a guest you are missing out on a bunch of great content that is only viewable once you register. To register, simply follow the link below and fill out some information about yourself. It only takes a few minutes!

Click here to register now!

Author Topic: Hydraulic Ram Question  (Read 1551 times)

timatoe

  • Administrator
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4048
  • Location: Grass Valley, CA
Hydraulic Ram Question
« on: November 13, 2015, 05:24:37 PM »

So real quick....  Does a 6" stroke ram move 3" in and 3" out?

I measured the tie rod from stop to stop and basically get a 6" total distance on the tie rod between the two ends.  Does that sound right?  If so, then I need a 6" ram for an assist set up?
Logged

4.3LXJ

  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 147
  • Location: Chico, CA
Re: Hydraulic Ram Question
« Reply #1 on: November 13, 2015, 05:48:15 PM »

Yes, it is designed to move 3" either way from center.  It should be in the center position when the wheels are pointed straight ahead
Logged

timatoe

  • Administrator
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4048
  • Location: Grass Valley, CA
Re: Hydraulic Ram Question
« Reply #2 on: November 13, 2015, 05:53:00 PM »

Ok thanks, just don't want to be ordering up the wrong crap.
Logged

Skorch

  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 364
  • Location: Fair Oaks
Re: Hydraulic Ram Question
« Reply #3 on: November 14, 2015, 07:25:09 AM »

Here's a thought also.  If you ever plan on moving to a larger axle you can go with an 8 inch ram and limit it internally.   That's what I did when I had a 44 front.  Mark
Logged

norcal_chris

  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1893
  • Location: Sacramento CA
  • always down to wheel
Re: Hydraulic Ram Question
« Reply #4 on: November 14, 2015, 09:23:58 PM »

Yep. I would grab the 8in and limit it.  That way you aren't buying twice.   Plus that way you can dial it in exactly to what you need.
Logged
Ruined a perfectly good jeep.

timatoe

  • Administrator
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4048
  • Location: Grass Valley, CA
Re: Hydraulic Ram Question
« Reply #5 on: November 15, 2015, 05:36:09 AM »

Sooooooo, how do I limit it?  The cost difference between the two rams is minimal.  I've seen some talk on old forum posts about milling spacers etc. but I don't have the ability to do that.

Completely unrelated.... Where's the best ie cheapest place to get about 10 ft or so of 1.5 x .25 tubing?
Logged

pdangerp

  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2620
  • Location: Fair Oaks, CA
Re: Hydraulic Ram Question
« Reply #6 on: November 15, 2015, 08:20:32 AM »

I think you can limit it with internal spacers. Really, limit straps would work too.
Logged

pdangerp

  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2620
  • Location: Fair Oaks, CA
Re: Hydraulic Ram Question
« Reply #7 on: November 15, 2015, 08:24:41 AM »

The trick is understanding that that there is a force created on the ram by the pressure on the ram piston by the hydraulic fluid. Once that force is overcome, it stops moving. As long as the stop (spacer, strap, bracket) can handle the force of the ram without bending or breaking you should be ok. You could even use split collars stacked up on the ram to limit the movement.
Logged

pdangerp

  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2620
  • Location: Fair Oaks, CA
« Last Edit: November 15, 2015, 08:40:22 AM by pdangerp »
Logged

norcal_chris

  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1893
  • Location: Sacramento CA
  • always down to wheel
Re: Hydraulic Ram Question
« Reply #9 on: November 15, 2015, 10:11:45 AM »

You need to limit the ram internally with spacers.  Some people use washers on piston, or Delrin spacers. 

Fwiw a over extending ram can break knuckles in half. So it's quite a bit of force. 
Logged
Ruined a perfectly good jeep.

Skorch

  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 364
  • Location: Fair Oaks
Re: Hydraulic Ram Question
« Reply #10 on: November 15, 2015, 10:25:16 AM »

Delrin spacer for the win.  My front 60 uses just over 7 " of ram.  Mark
Logged

timatoe

  • Administrator
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4048
  • Location: Grass Valley, CA
Re: Hydraulic Ram Question
« Reply #11 on: November 15, 2015, 07:20:23 PM »

Rams are something I've never dicked with so I'm lost as to what to do really.  I don't even have an idea where to get delrin bushings..  :dunno:
Logged

Skorch

  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 364
  • Location: Fair Oaks
Re: Hydraulic Ram Question
« Reply #12 on: November 15, 2015, 08:15:33 PM »

PSC can do it for you, they have done it in the past.  So has Howe.  Mark
Logged

timatoe

  • Administrator
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4048
  • Location: Grass Valley, CA
Re: Hydraulic Ram Question
« Reply #13 on: November 15, 2015, 08:25:15 PM »

Yeah, I'm just trying to not spend the money on a kit.  Trying to build a kit essentially, none of it really seems difficult except the ram and really that only seems that way because I have no knowledge.
Logged

pdangerp

  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2620
  • Location: Fair Oaks, CA
Re: Hydraulic Ram Question
« Reply #14 on: November 15, 2015, 08:45:29 PM »

Sometimes kits are priced the way they are for a reason.
Logged

Skorch

  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 364
  • Location: Fair Oaks
Re: Hydraulic Ram Question
« Reply #15 on: November 15, 2015, 09:10:57 PM »

What about porting the box?  Mark
Edit;  delrin.  McMaster Carr
« Last Edit: November 15, 2015, 09:20:57 PM by Skorch »
Logged